Chaplin, Ladele and McFarlane: the end

Mrs Shirley Chaplin (No. 59842/10), Ms Lillian Ladele (No. 51671/10) and Mr Gary McFarlane (No. 36516/10), whose original applications were rejected by the Fourth Section – see Eweida and Ors v United Kingdom [2013] ECHR 37 – all applied to have their cases heard before the Grand Chamber ECtHR.

It has just been announced that the Grand Chamber panel of five judges which filters applications for rehearings before the Grand Chamber has decided to reject all three appeal requests. The judgments in their cases are now final.